Julian Cope presents JAPROCKSAMPLER.COM

The Floral

Tadashi Kosaka – vocals
Eiji Kikuchi – lead guitar
Hiro Yanagida – organ, rhythm guitar
Yoshiichi Sugiyama – bass
Yasuichi Yoshimura - drums

The short-lived and poppy Floral was formed as a factory-style ‘boy band’, in 1968, by university students between 18-22, who had all auditioned for Japan’s Monkees Fan Club, who were searching for a Japanese equivalent. The Floral released no LPs, but made one 7” single entitled MUSICOLOR RECORD containing the songs ‘Namida Wa Hanabira (Tears Are Flower Petals)’ b/w ‘Suiheisen No Bara (Roses On The Horizon)’. The lyricist for the A-side was Akira Uno, who went on to become a famous illustrator. The Floral split when the serious-minded Hiro Yanagida left to form the more heavyweight and more successful Apryl Fool.

Julian Cope
To contribute information about this artist you must first log-in or register with Head Heritage.